Use our new online form to nominate a nurse for the DAISY Award

Use our new online form to nominate a nurse for the DAISY Award

What Is The DAISY Award? The DAISY Award is a nationwide program that rewards and celebrates the extraordinary clinical skill and compassionate care given by nurses every day. It was established by the family of J. Patrick Barnes, who died of complications of the auto-immune disease, Idiopathic Thrombocytopenia Purpura (ITP), at the age of 33. DAISY is an acronym for Diseases Attacking the Immune SYstem. During Pat’s eight week hospitalization, his family was awestruck by the care and compassion his nurses provided—not only to Pat, but to everyone in his family. One of the goals they set in creating a foundation in Pat’s memory was to recognize extraordinary bedside nurses who make an enormous difference in the lives of so many people.  

Do you know a bedside nurse who deserves recognition? He or she should consistently meet the following criteria:

  • Demonstrates critical thinking and decision making skills
  • Offers compassionate care to patient and families
  • Establishes a special connection with families through trust and emotional support
  • Focuses on meeting patient and family goals
  • Educates patients and families
  • Is committed to the profession of nursing

If selected, the DAISY Award Honoree will be recognized at a public ceremony in his or her unit and will receive a DAISY certificate and award pin, as well as a hand-carved stone sculpture entitled A Healer’s Touch. Everyone in the unit will celebrate with Cinnabon® cinnamon rolls – a favorite of Patrick’s during his illness.

Nominate an AAMC Nurse for The Daisy Award. Please click here to nominate a colleague by Wednesday, Oct 19. Hardcopies of the nomination form are also available on your unit. Contact Sandy Fox at with questions.

Read more about the DAISY Foundation at

1 comment

Post your comment